Car Accident Frequently Asked Questions


Car Accident Attorneys in Pensacola, Fort Walton Beach, and Destin, Florida

Below are answers to frequently asked questions by people who find themselves to be the unfortunate victim of a car accident, and are provided by the car accident attorneys of Dean & Camper, P.A., a law firm dedicated to helping those injured in a car accident.

Q:  SHOULD I CALL THE POLICE?

       A:  Yes.  If you have been in a car accident of any kind, you should call the police immedately, even if the accident initially appears to be minor.  Often times injuries are not immediately apparent at the accident scene, but later worsen in the hours, days, and weeks after an accident.  It is always better to call law enforcement and report the accident as soon as possible at the accident scene to prove that the accident occurred and to help show who was at fault in causing the accident.   

Q:  WHAT INFORMATION SHOULD I GET FROM THE OTHER DRIVER AND ANY WITNESSES TO THE ACCIDENT?

       A:  You should record the following information as soon as possible after a car accident:

  • The names, phone numbers and addresses of all persons involved in the accident, including any witnesses to the accident;
  • The insurance information for the other driver(s) involved in the accident.  (If you can, take a picture of their insurance card); and
  • The location, date, and time of the accident.

Q:  SHOULD I GO TO THE HOSPITAL?

       A:  Immediately after an accident you should assess whether you have sustained any injuries.  If your injuries involve any form of head trauma or "whiplash" forces to your head or neck areas, or if you are not sure of the extent of your injuries, you should immediately call 911 and go to the hospital for a further assessment by medical professionals.  If you have not yet received medical treatment and your injuries have worsened since your car accident or have not significantly improved, you should seek medical assessment.  In Florida, if you don't get medical treatment within 14 days of your car accident, you lose $10,000 in auto insurance benefits (PIP), otherwise available to pay towards your medical expenses and lost wages.       

Q:  SHOULD I TAKE PICTURES?     

       A:  Yes.  You should take pictures of all vehicles involved in the accident as soon as you reasonably can, from the accident scene, to the details of the damage to any of the vehicles.  If your body shows physical signs of trauma, you should also take pictures of your injuries.  The more record keeping the better.  Recording this information will help you more accurately recall the details of your accident and in relaying the information to your accident attorney, as well as help record the facts and circumstances of your accident in cases where there may be a dispute as to what occurred. 

Q:  SHOULD I CALL A CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEY?     

       A:  Yes.  After a car accident, you should call a car accident attorney experienced in helping injured victims with car accident and auto insurance claims.  The consultation is completely free, and delaying in making the call can often times significantly affect your legal rights.  At the law firm of Dean & Camper, helping accident and injury victims with their personal injury claims is all we do.  Our experienced car accident lawyers can answer any questions you may have.  If you later decide to pursue a claim against the party responsible for your car accident or their auto insurance company, we can help you in investigating the facts and law for your claim, ensuring your evidence is preserved, and in obtaining all possible auto insurance benefits and sources of compensation for your losses and damages.  If you decide to pursue a personal injury claim through one of our injury lawyers, there would be no fees or costs to you unless you get a money recovery.  Our attorneys are available any time, 24/7, for a free consultation. 

Q:  WHAT KIND OF COMPENSATION AM I ENTITLED TO AS A CAR ACCIDENT VICTIM?       

       A:  The type and amount of compensation you may be entitled to as a car accident victim depend on the nature of the accident and the extent of your injuries and damages.  If the car accident was caused by the carelessness or negligence of another, you may be able to recover compensation for:  

  • Hospital, medical and doctor bills;
  • Lost wages;
  • Pain and suffering;
  • Disability or disfigurement;
  • Wrongful death; and
  • Other damages, losses, and out-of-pocket expenses resulting from the accident.

If you have been in a car accident and have questions, call the car accident attorneys of Dean & Camper for a free consultation.  Call anytime, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, for a free consultation with one of our experienced car accident attorneys.  With evening, weekend, home and hospital appointments available for those in need, our car accident lawyers can be there when and where you need them.  Call us now.  We can help.

  • Pensacola:  (850) 433-3077

  • Ft. Walton Beach:  (850) 796-3077

  • Destin:  (850) 269-7105

  • Out-Of State?  Call Us Toll Free at (844) 433-3077